£22.4m Into London City: Kang's Bet on Independent Women's Football
Michele Kang's holding company has put £22.4m into London City Lionesses in two years. The accounts show what it costs to build an independent WSL club.
- LCL Sports Group Limited, company number 11932480, filed full audited accounts for the year to 30 June 2025 on 31 March 2026.
- Revenue was £901,715. The loss for the year was £10,576,309, with an operating loss of £10,587,464.
- YMK Holdings LLC, Michele Kang's holding company, contributed £12.5m of capital during the year, following £9.9m the year before — £22.4m across two financial years.
- Fixed assets rose to £6.7m, employees from 34 to 61, and player registrations from £15,116 to £203,043. The club acquired the training ground it had previously rented.
- The auditor's opinion was unmodified but identified a material uncertainty over going concern, given continuing reliance on shareholder support.
- The WSL's Financial Sustainability Regulations took effect on 1 July 2025, capping squad salary spend at 80% of Relevant Revenue plus cash funding limited to the higher of 25% of revenue or £4m.
- Since those accounts: promotion, sixth in the WSL, a sold-out opening fixture and a multi-year Nike front-of-shirt agreement whose terms were not disclosed; press estimates placed it above £3m a year.
London City Lionesses generated £901,715 of revenue in the year to June 2025 and lost £10,576,309. Ordinarily those would be alarming numbers. At London City they describe something rather more unusual: one of the largest attempts yet to build a leading women's football club without a men's team attached. Michele Kang's YMK Holdings contributed £12.5m of capital during the year, following £9.9m the year before. That is £22.4m in two financial years. The money has helped buy a training ground, expand the workforce, build a promotion-winning squad and take London City into the WSL. Now comes the harder part. The club has to turn investment into revenue, and the early commercial evidence suggests that process has begun.
The numbers
The operating company is LCL Sports Group Limited, incorporated in 2019 and filing full audited accounts rather than the abbreviated filings common further down the women's game. The year to 30 June 2025 covers London City's promotion-winning season in what was then the Championship, now WSL2.
Revenue for the year was £901,715. The loss was £10,576,309, against an operating loss of £10,587,464.
The scale of the difference shows how early London City remain in the construction of the business. Commercial income was still below £1m during the promotion season, while Kang was simultaneously funding the infrastructure, people and playing squad required to reach the WSL.
YMK Holdings contributed £12.5m of capital during the year, following £9.9m in the preceding year. Across two financial years, that is £22.4m of equity investment.
Some of what that bought is visible in the accounts. Fixed assets rose to £6.7m, employee numbers increased from 34 to 61, and the carrying value of player registrations rose from £15,116 to £203,043. The club also acquired the training ground it had previously rented, and moved to Hayes Lane in Bromley.
This is not simply an owner covering an annual football deficit. Kang is funding the creation of assets and infrastructure around the team as well.
The scale of that investment also creates dependence. The auditor gave an unmodified opinion but identified a material uncertainty relating to going concern, because the club remains reliant on continuing shareholder support. That is an important financial risk, even with an owner who has so far demonstrated a willingness to provide substantial capital.
What "independent" actually means here
London City are routinely described as the only independent club in the WSL, and the description is accurate but frequently misread. It does not mean the club has no owner, no parent and no external capital. It has all three.
The club was founded on 13 May 2019 as a breakaway from Millwall Lionesses, and independence without capital nearly finished it. In June 2023 all twenty players wrote collectively to then-owner Diane Culligan asking her either to sell the club or raise further investment, citing financial instability, no players signed for the coming season and no permanent manager. Kang acquired the club that December for an undisclosed price.
What London City lack is not a parent but an affiliated men's football business. Every other club in the WSL and WSL2 sits as a subsidiary beneath a men's club's holding company — Manchester City Women's Football Club Limited and Manchester City Limited both sit under City Football Group (Midco) Limited, and the structure repeats across the league. That arrangement allows commercial agreements to be struck across a group's teams and allocated between them, facilities and staff to be shared, and revenue to be apportioned rather than earned separately.
London City have none of that. Their £901,715 of revenue is money the women's club generated, not an allocation from a larger entity. Their costs are their own. The £12.5m from YMK Holdings arrives as capital rather than as a commercial payment from an affiliated business, which means it appears in the accounts as what it is.
That is the distinction worth holding on to. The club is not unsupported. It is unbundled.
Why the salary cap changes the question
Until last year the composition of a club's income was largely academic for regulatory purposes. The WSL's previous Salary Cap Regulations limited player spending to 40% of a club's income with no cap at all on owner contributions, so where the money came from mattered less than how much of it there was.
The Financial Sustainability Regulations that replaced them, in force from 1 July 2025, changed that. A club's total salary cost must not exceed 80% of its Relevant Revenue, plus Relevant Cash Funding capped at the higher of 25% of Relevant Revenue or £4m. A salary floor applies alongside it, setting minimum player salaries by age band, and reporting on the sanctions regime indicates a WSL club could lose a point for every £100,000 of overspending, rising to ten or more points beyond £900,000. Salary-cost sanctions were not enforced during the transitional 2025/26 season.
Relevant Revenue means revenue directly attributable to the club's women's football activities. Group-generated commercial revenue can qualify where it is genuinely attributable and reasonably allocated or apportioned to the women's club — the regulations do not exclude it. What they prevent is unlimited parent support being counted as revenue. Anything beyond a reasonable allocation becomes Relevant Cash Funding, and cash funding is capped.
Run London City's FY25 figures through that formula and the result is instructive. Eighty per cent of £901,715 is £721,372. Add the £4m flat allowance, which exceeds 25% of revenue several times over, and the permitted squad salary cost comes to roughly £4.72m. In other words, almost all of London City's spending permission on FY25 revenue would come from the £4m cash-funding allowance rather than the revenue component.
That is why commercial growth matters beyond the balance sheet. Under the FSR, revenue is what converts an owner's willingness to invest into money that can actually reach the playing squad. It is also worth being clear about what the cap covers: the permitted squad salary cost constrains player wages, not the wider cost of building a football club from a standing start, which is where most of the £10.6m sits.
The commercial question
The FY25 accounts therefore capture London City at an unusual moment: the capital has arrived before the commercial business.
What has happened since suggests the second part may be catching up. London City won promotion, finished sixth in their first WSL season, drew an average home league attendance of 3,294 with a high of 5,414 against Arsenal, and broke the WSL transfer record on a reported £1.4m fee. They opened 2026/27 with a sold-out crowd of more than 5,400 against Manchester United.
The club has since signed a multi-year front-of-shirt agreement with Nike. Financial terms were not disclosed, but Kang told BBC Sport it was the largest women-only front-of-shirt deal yet signed and worth more than the roughly £3m benchmark previously reported for Atlanta's incoming NWSL franchise. Press estimates placed the London City agreement above £3m a year, but the contract terms were not disclosed.
Even at around that level, the comparison with the accounts is extraordinary. A front-of-shirt agreement worth more than £3m annually would be worth more than three times the club's entire FY25 turnover. It would materially change both London City's commercial base and the revenue component of its permitted squad spending under the FSR.
That is precisely the kind of commercial step the investment was intended to make possible. Without Kang's capital, London City were a second-tier club struggling for financial stability in 2023. Within three years they had reached the WSL, established themselves in its top half and signed a standalone shirt agreement potentially worth several times their entire revenue two seasons earlier.
The economics remain heavily dependent on the owner. But there is now evidence of a route by which that dependence could begin to reduce.
Kang made the argument herself at the World Football Summit in Madrid on 15 September, presenting the Nike agreement as evidence that a standalone commercial model in women's football is viable.
Why it matters
Michele Kang is effectively testing one of the central commercial propositions in women's football: whether a women's club can justify substantial investment on its own commercial merits, rather than existing as a department of a men's football business.
London City are an unusually clean test because there is nowhere for the economics to hide. There is no men's shirt sponsorship to allocate between teams, no shared matchday operation and no men's football revenue absorbing central costs. Kang's capital appears as capital. London City's revenue appears as London City's revenue.
The first stage has been expensive. £22.4m of capital across two financial years has helped transform a financially fragile Championship club into an established WSL side with its own training infrastructure and a rapidly expanding commercial operation.
The second stage is the one that matters now. Revenue of £901,715 cannot support the scale of football operation Kang has built, and the auditor's going-concern disclosure makes the continuing importance of shareholder support explicit. The new FSR also means genuine women's-football revenue increasingly determines how much of that investment can reach the playing squad.
But the direction since those accounts is significant. Attendances have risen, London City have established themselves in the WSL, and London City has secured a major standalone Nike agreement whose value has been estimated in the press but not disclosed.
Kang has supplied the capital before the revenue existed. The next few sets of accounts will tell us whether the revenue follows.
What to watch
The FY26 accounts. The first covering a full WSL season and the first under the Financial Sustainability Regulations, though sanctions were not enforced during the transitional 2025/26 campaign. Due at Companies House by 31 March 2027.
The revenue line. £901,715 is the baseline. The Nike agreement, WSL central distributions and a materially larger attendance base should all show up in it.
The going concern note. The disclosure persists while the business relies on shareholder support. How that language changes is the cleanest available measure of progress.
The revenue component of the cap. As commercial income grows, the 80% element starts doing more of the work and the flat £4m allowance does less. That shift is what turns investment into squad spending.
Multi-club conflicts. Kang owns London City and OL Lyonnes. If both qualify for the Champions League, UEFA's multi-club ownership rules become live, and the smaller club is usually the one that yields.
Frequently asked
Sources
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- Companies House — LCL Sports Group Limited — full accounts for the year ended 30 June 2025 (31 Mar 2026)accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026
- accessed 17 Sep 2026